ECHO BEDS’ SOPHOMORE ALBUM, ‘BURIED LANGUAGE,’ NOW AVAILABLE FOR STREAMING Listen to the ravaging new effort from the Denver-based industrial duo.

Buried Language, the sophomore effort from Denver-based industrial duo Echo Beds  (comprised of Keith Curts and Tom Nelsen), is an album indebted to the  past. Inspired by a tumultuous end to 2016, in which the pair were  locked out of their rehearsal space and their gear was held hostage by  city officials, Buried Language is steeped in rage and embittered self-reliance. Listen to the album in its entirety via Brooklyn Vegan today
Deprived of their usual tools, Echo Beds penned Buried Language over the course of 8 months in various living rooms. Daisy chaining unfamiliar electronics and myriad devices, these primitive working conditions shaped the punishing industrial landscape of the album. Buried Language should be viewed as a kind of exorcism steeped in metaphor and brimming with social commentary—the album title refers to widespread overnight evictions and boarded-up DIY spaces across the country. It is the culmination of all the heartbreak, frustration, grief and rage and the cyclical nature of DIY space closures. Left to our own devices, we start over in a new underground.
Formed in 2010, Echo Beds began as a one-off live set played in a local warehouse and quickly grew from there. Sensing immediately that they’d only scratched the surface of their potential, the duo began experimenting with hand-built instruments and manufactured sounds—such as recordings of broken glass and a metal filing cabinet—in order to explore and interpret the sounds of industry as a sonic landscape. Over the years Echo Beds has made a name for themselves with their visceral and abrasive live shows that often include a modified oil drum as percussion.
Buried Language is due out via The Flenser on Friday, August 17 (pre-order here). Catch Echo Beds playing shows in support of the album this month.
Echo Beds — On Tour
August 17 Minneapolis, MN @ Novo Fest
August 19 Des Moines, IA @ Vaudeville Mews
August 20 Kansas City, MO @ Roller Dog
August 21 Lawrence, KS @ Replay Lounge
October 8 Laramie, WY @ Buckhorn w/ Yautja
November 15 Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge w/ Daughters
Buried Language — Track Listing:
1.  Carved In Stone
2.  Buried Language
3.  Small Print
4.  The Flaw Is In The Design
5.  So Many Ways In
6.  A Planned Obsolescence
7.  Only Surfaces
8.  Access Control
9.  Still Body